Planning Application for Student Accommodation at the Old Horse & Jockey Pub

AuthorMessage DateMessage
Oisín11/07/2014I spotted this planning application recently.
(Link shortened for ease of use!)
Http://bit.ly/HorseJockeyEmmet

I wonder is there really that much of a need for student accommodation for ICFE, or is it some sort of way of getting planning permission which will be changed to apartments later?
kathleen currivan12/07/2014I wouldn't have thought there was a need for this.
Peter Mc12/07/2014Oisin: apparently there is a huge demand for good quality student accommodation all across Dublin and these student apartments on Emmet Road will be for students attending any of the college in the city. It seems like a genuine and honest planning application to me, but I'm not an expert. You have more experience in these matters.
anne13/07/2014I agree with the last comment. I think it is genuine and I know the applicant and he has student accommodation elsewhere. Also it could be good for student nurses from St James. Some people are very quick to knock ideas, anything would be better than what is there at present.
Oisin14/07/2014Anne: I'm not knocking the idea, just putting it up here so that people know, and asking questions in case they need to be asked.

Sometimes off campus student accomodation doesn't work all that well, as a lot of students prefer to rent apartments if they can. It works better when the colleges run them as there is some control over the rent so that students don't get exploited. Perhaps the people you know work well with Students Unions etc. and already have an agreement in place with somewhere.
kathleen currivan15/07/2014My comment above reflected my own experience. All the students whom I knew in ICFE were living at home with their parents. I could be completely off the mark there.